Senti-Merriman Award

The ResNet Steering Committee established the Senti-Merriman ResNet Symposium Award in June 2001. The award sponsors the attendance of up to two student staff members at the Student Technology Conference each year.

The Senti-Merriman Award was created in honor of Sandy Senti and Jeff Merriman, the organization’s founding members. Sandy and Jeff were the driving force behind the creation of the ResNet Symposium and its early success was the result of their commitment to residential technology and their shared respect for the contributions of those who make ResNet programs possible: students living in residence halls and ResNet student staff.

The ResNet Board of Directors is pleased that the Student Technology Conference experience can be extended to student staff participants through this award. This opportunity provides all member organizations with a means to honor their student staff and demonstrates how important it is to have student participation in our programs.

For the 2015 Student Technology Conference at Michigan Tech in Houghton, MI, the Senti-Merriman Award will cover conference registration fees (PDS and Networking Day activity fees not included), on-campus housing fees, and travel costs to and from the conference for one student. The nominating school or award winner is responsible for any additional expenses.

The Senti-Merriman Chairperson for the 2015 Student Technology Conference is Jim Rizzo.
Deadline for completed nominations is Friday, April 10, 2015.

Nominee Qualifications

  • A current undergraduate or graduate student in good academic standing
  • Currently employed in a role supporting student usage of technology at a college or university
  • Nominated by a past or present administrator of student technology support program or its equivalent

Selection Criteria

  • Current work performance
  • Impact on his or her student technology support program or college/university
  • Future potential in academia or computing
  • Nominating school’s responses to application questions
  • Nominee’s responses to application questions

Nominating School Responsibilities

  • The student's participation in and conduct at the Student Technology Conference
  • One full time staff person accompanies the student at the Conference

Nomination Process

  • Nominees must answer the nominee questions below.
  • Nominators must answer the nominator questions outlined below.
  • Nominators should combine both responses in a Word doc and send by email to the Senti-Merriman Chairperson.
Deadline for completed nominations is Friday, April 4, 2014.

Nominator Questions (Required)

  • Please provide the full name, position and student level/status of the nominee.
  • How long has the nominee been involved with your program? (in years)
  • Is the candidate in good academic standing?
  • What are the nominee's responsibilities and skills within your program?
  • Please select one accomplishment or distinctive performance of the nominee and briefly describe.
  • What would you consider the nominee's greatest strength and why?
  • (Optional) If you would like to include a brief additional statement, please do so below.

Nominee Questions (Required)

  • What is your expected graduation date?
  • What do you hope to gain by attending the Student Technology Conference as it applies to your future plans?
  • If you were asked to address incoming students at their computing orientation, what topics would you cover and why?
  • (Optional) Would you be interested in presenting at the Student Technology Conference? If so, what topic would you like to present on?
  • (Optional) If you would like to include a brief additional statement, please do so below.

Previous Award Recipients

 Year Recipient Nominator  Institution 
 2014 Stuart Teal Derek Zhao Yale University
 2013 Kayla Shipman Mark Ellersick Western Carolina University
 2012 Hunter Parker Andy Voelker Western Carolina University
 2011 Casey Icenhour Andy Voelker Western Carolina University
 2010 Christopher Hallahan Wendy Shih  Kent State University 
 2009 Dylan Sather  Karen McRitchie  Grinnell College 
 2008 Justin Luca Eric Rosenberg  Stony Brook University 
 2007 Ian Tegebo  Dedra Chamberlain University of California, Berkeley 
  Esther White  Megan Westerby  Barnard College 
 2006 Liam Doherty  Sarah Hosken Illinois State University 
  Eric Vogelweid Kristy Cunningham University of Missouri, Columbia 
 2005 Brandon Enright  Chuck Rose  University of California, San Diego 
  Joanna LaForge  T.R. Knight  Taylor University 
 2004  Adam Brock  Erica Spencer  Baylor University 
  Eric Mwiti  Josh Shelton and Heidi Wasem  University of Puget Sound 
 2003  Andrew Petro  Minh Vuong  Yale University 
  Sarah Hosken  Jason Tucholke  Illinois State University 
 2002 Tim Marconi  Kathy McIntosh  University of San Diego 
  Corey Fling  Burley Phillips  Point Loma Nazarene University